Makanan Yang Baik Untuk Penduduk Perkotaan yaitu Fig Jam And Lime Cordial

Feeds:
Posts
Comments

In my kitchen…

…there are mooncakes! Handmade by Monkey Girl’s clever mum, they’re filled with lotus paste and a salted duck yolk. They’re the best I’ve ever tasted…

In my kitchen…

…is a set of Oxo pop top airtight containers. They work brilliantly! I bought them from Costco at a fraction of what it would have cost to buy each piece individually…

In my kitchen…

…are oodles of chocolate chip cookies. Small Man’s HSC exams start in less than two weeks, so I’m keeping the cookie jars full…

In my kitchen…

…are these stunning ranunculas, a gift from my cousin Gek…

In my kitchen…

…was a packet of Jamon Iberico. I found it hidden on the bottom shelf of the fridge, and the boys scoffed it for lunch with sourdough focaccia…

In my kitchen…

…is a shirt button. Who else but my Pete would bother to repair a broken button?

In my kitchen…

…is this beautiful Japanese bowl and plate that Mum bought 30 years ago at a David Jones sale. She gave it to me as a gift on my last visit home…

She also gave me these old Chinese snuff bottles, which are handpainted from theinside

In my kitchen…

…is a gold Japanese cup and saucer, a wedding present from 1989. I figured it was probably time to get it out and use it…

And speaking of vintage crockery, here’s my latest purchase from the Valentina Jones’ pendant collection. Gorgeous foodie jewellery made by a gorgeous friend…


In my kitchen…

…was a jar of Fiona’s apple scrap jelly. It was delicious on ham sandwiches….

In my kitchen…

…there is always chocolate. I’ve been making large dark chocolate plates with myma’moul moulds

…and more small chocolate coins. Pete punched a hole in one of them and turned it into a pendant for Valentina…

Finally, in my kitchen…

…is a birthday present for Tiny Terri – her favourite chestnut flour brownies and a selection of dark chocolates…

. . . . .

Tell me, what’s happening in your kitchen this month?

If you’d like to do an In My Kitchen post on your own blog, please feel free  to do so. We’d love to see what’s happening in your kitchen this month!  Please link back to this blog, and let us know when your post is up, and we’ll add it to our monthly listing. Please upload your post by the 10th of each month.

A couple of months ago, Monkey Girl’s very generous father gave us a shoulder of frozen venison.

It was humungous. I popped it into the freezer and would open the door occasionally, stare at it, and then close the door again. It took me several weeks of deep breathing to build up my chi enough to tackle it.

I was keen to roast it, but was concerned that it would dry out too much. Most instructions say to roast it quickly and serve it rare, but my Pete is suspicious of game meats at the best of times, and he was never going to eat a barely cooked one.

So…I took a deep breath and adapted the Jamie Oliver lamb shoulder recipe that we’d made several times before. It worked a treat! I wrapped the venison in strips of streaky bacon and laid it in an oiled pan over two onions that had been cut into eighths. 100mls of water was added to the pan and then it was covered in a double layer of thick, oiled foil and baked at 175C (no fan) for four hours…

After four hours, I uncovered the pan and let it roast for a further 45 minutes until the bacon had crisped up. There were oodles of pan juices which Pete turned into a thin gravy…

The meat was incredibly dark and very tender. And despite how the photo below looks, it wasn’t dry at all. Between five of us (Monkey Girl stayed for dinner), we managed to eat half the shoulder. It was absolutely delicious – even Pete had seconds…

The following day, I turned most of the remaining meat into a pie filling, cooking it with peas, a little water and the remaining gravy. It was topped with our lard pastry, but the boys smashed it and I didn’t get a chance to take a photo. It looked like this, only without the stars…

As I was making the pie filling, I kept back 200g of the meat to make a barley soup on day three…

This came together very simply, using the few vegetables I had in the fridge and freezer…

  • 200g roasted venison, chopped
  • ½ cup pearl barley, washed
  • 1 onion, peeled and diced
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 1 potato, peeled and chopped
  • a handful of frozen peas
  • 1 litre water
  • 2 teaspoons Massel beef stock powder
  • splash of Worcestershire sauce
  • light olive oil
  • salt and pepper

I fried the chopped onion, carrot and potato in a little light olive oil in our Emile Henry clay pot, then added the water and stock powder. The barley and venison was added, along with the Worcestershire sauce, and the pot was brought to a gentle boil for an hour or so. The frozen peas went in after the first half an hour or so of cooking. Once the barley had swollen, I seasoned with a little salt and pepper. I think this would work with other leftover roast meats as well. It was simple and very delicious!

. . . . .

Our venison shoulder fed us for three meals and not a scrap was wasted. It was a great treat to have such wonderful, healthy meat to cook with!

After a fairly tumultuous year, we’re having a gentle time.

Small Man finished school last week and has three weeks to go before the final HSC exams. He’s studying hard, but not too hard – I can hear him playing a computer game as I type this. I think he’s got the balance just right.

A few weeks ago, he threw himself into a wind tunnel with gusto. He’s completely hooked on indoor skydiving and is keen to learn more. His skills  and control are constantly improving – he can now move in almost every direction at will. When his superpowers kick in, he’ll be ready to take off…

. . . . .

We’ve been spending lots of time with my Mum, who is doing very well. She’s become a wiz at WhatsApp, which lets us keep in touch all day long. We’ve also been catching up with old friends, including Nick and Mary, who cooked us a delicious Greek meal last week. It’s a joy to spend time in such easy, comfortable company. The food was amazing and I loved the tablecloth…

Kitharaki sto fourno…the lamb was so tender it cut with a fork…

. . . . .

On Wednesday night, we had dinner with dear friends at Bistro Cocotte. Cliff and Kathy are celebrating the 20th anniversary of their café this year, so we shared a bottle of 1995 Yarra Yering pinot with Jay’s truffle brie fondue. It was a sublimepairing…

. . . . .

The knitting continues, and sample cards arrived from Bendigo Mills (is there anyone who doesn’t love samples?)…

My latest project is a Chinese wave dishcloth (instructions are here)…

. . . . .

I picked up a packet of sustainable mussels from Boston Bay in South Australia. They were just $5.99/kg and I cooked them in tomato, white wine, garlic and onion, and served them with freshly baked sourdough. The leftovers made a delicious clam soup the following day…

. . . . .

The very gorgeous Fiona from Tiffin Bite Sized was in town for the day and was kind enough to spend it with me. We had a blast! (As an aside, I’ve just noticed how silver I’m getting in the photo below..ah well…)

. . . . .

I’ve been cheerfully tempering batches of chocolate, including these dark chocolate ginger pieces for Aunty Marty…

A large batch of chocolate coins, Spanish doubloons, clockwork pieces or whatever else they might look like to you…

The chocolates above were shaped in my ma’moul moulds. These were made in Syria and are probably irreplaceable now. It’s incredibly sad to reflect on what the people who made these moulds might be going through now…

. . . . .

It’s a birthday weekend! This plate is for my lovely friend Luca who turns 16 today…

…and a jar of baby choc chip cookies and musical chocolates for Not-A-Baby-Anymore Grace, who is four today!

. . . . .

Folks, I’m sorry to be posting two catch up posts in a row. I’m not online very much at the moment, but I do miss you all, and I just wanted to touch base. Hope you’re all well and having a gentle time too! ♥

A few snippets from the past couple of weeks…

. . . . .

Pete and I went into town for the opening of Barangaroo Reserve last Saturday. It’s a magnificent space…

The underground area is known as the Cut-Out, and it’s larger than a football field…

We bought a Thai yellow chicken curry from Martin Boetz’s stall and ate it overlooking the water on a gloriously moody, overcast day…

. . . . .

Last week, the power in our neighbourhood went out for a couple of hours. So Big Boy and I went for coffee. It seemed the only sensible thing to do, and I love any excuse to spend time with him…

. . . . .

I’ve been experimenting with the offcuts Johnny gives us. We carefully sliced off as much jamon as we could for sandwiches, but I couldn’t bear to waste the delicious fat…

So I added it to my raw rice and let it all cook together. It infused the rice with a delicate smoky flavour…

. . . . .

We had friends over for dinner on Saturday night, so I popped in to see my friend Dotti at the Paesanella Cheese Shop in Haberfield. It’s the easy way to entertain…

. . . . .

I’ve been baking an insane amount of focaccia. The first batch was made with this truffle salt, a gift from lovely Jay at Bistro Cocotte (best not to ask how many times we’ve eaten there now)…

I used truffle oil on the top as well…and took a loaf down to Jay to thank him…

The second batch of our regular sourdough focaccia was gigantic…

It’s always so much fun to bake! We ate some for lunch, delivered large pieces to the neighbours, then sliced the rest up and baked it in a 100C oven for two and a half hours. As you can probably imagine, crackers made from oily, salty focaccia are incredibly moreish…

. . . . .

The manic dishcloth knitting continues…this one was made on slightly larger needles…

I’ve come up with the world’s easiest knitting pattern for a dishcloth (this is for you, Tania!)…using 8ply cotton and 5mm needles, cast on 38 stitches and knit in straight garter stitch (all knit, no purl) for 60 rows (or until it’s large enough), then cast off. Stripes are optional…

As it seems ridiculous to blog about something so simple, I thought I’d make it up to you with a photo of Maude’s current work in progress. It’s a crocheted blanket made in 10ply Australian cotton, and it will be three times this size when it’s finished (this photo is for Nancy)…

. . . . .

Finally, Sunday morning baking – a couple of mocha bars for dinner tonight, and a batch of gluten-free chocolate cakes, made with Cacao Barry Tanzanie Origin chocolate…

. . . . .

Hope you’re all having a glorious weekend!  ♥

“Celia, it’s just a dishcloth…”

It was all  my friend Maude could do not to roll her eyes at me.

Ok. I do get a bit excited sometimes. But honestly, these cotton dishcloths are ridiculously good.

They first arrived in the mail a couple of years ago, a gift from my blogging friend (and avid knitter) Rose. Here’s the photo I took in 2013, when they were brand new…

They are totally brilliant – they absorb well, rinse out completely, and go straight into the washing machine. This one has been washed at least 30 times. It’s outlasted most of my tea towels…

Rose, bless her kind heart, sent me a refresher pack earlier this year…

Now, I haven’t knitted for over 20 years, but I was inspired to give these a go. Rose sent me the link to her blogpost, which led me to this pattern at Homespun Living. I ordered some magnificent Australian cotton from Bendigo Mills (8ply, 200g balls) and borrowed a pair of 4mm circular needles from Maude (I find circular needles are easier on my slightly arthritic fingers than straight ones). Edit: I’ve since made another one using 4.5mm needles and found that they produce an even better result!

Tah-dah!  I’m seriously chuffed with how well this turned out…

Rose, thank you so much for all the time and effort you put into making these for me! Having now made one, I know just how long each dishcloth takes (a couple of hours for me, but I’m quite a slow knitter). Having said that, I’m definitely going to make some more, because they’re beautiful, work brilliantly and make me happy!

http://b8fe8oukr455nkehs31jhtk16v.hop.clickbank.net/?tid=MICHAELOWEN%23%4024

http://53765rvome51hk9anepfsb2-8t.hop.clickbank.net/?tid=MICHAELOWEN%23%4024

Tinggalkan Balasan

